Geraldine Maras

Chef chocolatier

Géraldine Müller Maras has been chef chocolatier at Maison Cailler since 2014. Previously, her chocolate-making career had taken her to all sorts of exotic places, for example from the Caribbean to Antarctica on board the MS Hanseatic cruise ship. She also worked in Sydney and Bangkok, training young chocolatiers.


In 2015, Géraldine won the title of Confectioner of the Year at the Swiss Chocolate Masters. That same year, in the international confectioners’ competition at the World Chocolate Masters, she finished in the top ten, as the only female chocolatier.


Géraldine’s all-time favourite since her very first visit to the bakery: the chocolate Gugelhopf cake.

Thomas Mair

Chocolatier

Thomas Mair has chocolate-making in his genes. As a child, Thomas loved helping his father in the family bakery. After working for a few years as a confectioner in Switzerland, he went to live in America in 1996. Thomas opened his own patisserie, and later began teaching at Virginia College in Birmingham, Alabama.


In the US, he was awarded the title of Certified Executive Pastry Chef by the American Culinary Federation, and also won silver and bronze awards in various competitions. Since 2014, he has been part of the chocolatier team at Maison Cailler.


Thomas’s favourite chocolate: the unmistakable Fémina praline in the blue-and-white wrapper

PATRICK SCHNEIDER

Chocolatier

Confectioner Patrick Schneider’s love of chocolate has taken him all over the world. He has worked as a patissier in a 5-star hotel in Bermuda and as head pastelero in Mexico, and complemented his chocolate-making experience with American chocolate expertise in the US.

Back in his homeland, Patrick ran the largest patisserie in La-Chaux-de-Fonds for 20 years. His interest in different cultures brought him to Maison Cailler at the beginning of 2015, where he introduces students from all over the world to the chocolatier’s sweet trade at the Atelier du Chocolat.

Patrick’s favourite recipe: a sorbet with exquisite cocoa and fresh fruits

ANTONIO DI CAPUA

Chocolatier

Born of a Chocolatier-Roaster father, Antonio became passionate about the world of chocolate at only 10 years old. Just a few years later he was voted best apprentice in Neuchâtel. After acquiring experience throughout Switzerland and winning various awards, he joined Maison Cailler in April 2017.

Since then, Antonio has taught the art of ganache making and tempering at Maison Cailler's Atelier du Chocolat. Inspired by traditional Swiss chocolate making, Antonio shares his discoveries and know-how with passion.

His favourite chocolates are grands crus with a high percentage of cocoa.

GÉRALDINE MÜLLER MARAS

Chefchocolatier


Géraldine Müller Maras nimmt seit 2014 die Funktion der Chefchocolatier bei Maison Cailler wahr. Zuvor führte ihre Chocolatierkarriere sie an exotische Orte, zum Beispiel auf die MS Hanseatic, auf der sie über die Weltmeere, von der Karibik bis in die Antarktis, reiste. In Sydney und Bangkok widmete sie sich zudem der Ausbildung junger Berufskollegen.


2015 gewann Géraldine an den Swiss Chocolate Masters den Siegertitel «Confiseurin des Jahres». Im gleichen Jahr platzierte sie sich beim internationalen Kräftemessen der Confiseure bei den World Chocolate Masters als einzige weibliche Chocolatier unter den zehn Besten.


Géraldines Lieblingsklassiker seit ihrem ersten Versuch in der Backstube: der Schokoladengugelhopf.

 

THOMAS MAIR

Chocolatier

Die Chocolatierbegabung liegt Thomas Mair in den Genen. Schon als Kind liebte er es, seinen Vater in die Backstube des Familienbetriebs zu begleiten. Nach einigen Jahren im schweizerischen Confiseurmetier wanderte er 1996 nach Amerika aus. Thomas  eröffnete eine eigene Konditorei und begann später, am Virginia College in Birmingham Auszubildende zu unterrichten.

In Amerika erhielt er von der American Culinary Federation den Titel «Certified Executive Pastry Chef» verliehen und gewann in verschiedenen Berufswettbewerben Silber- und Bronzeauszeichnungen. Seit 2014 gehört er zum Chocolatierteam von Maison Cailler.


Thomas Lieblingsschokolade: die unverkennbaren Fémina-Pralinen im weissblauen Kleid.

PATRICK SCHNEIDER

Chocolatier


Die Liebe zur Schokolade hat Confiseur Patrick Schneider weit durch die Welt geführt. Auf den Bermudas arbeitete er als Patissier in einem 5-Sterne-Hotel, in Mexico als Chef Pastelero und in den Vereinigten Staaten erweiterte er seine Chocolatiererfahrung durch amerikanisches Schokoladen-Know-how. Zurück in der Heimat führte er während 20 Jahren die grösste Konditorei in La Chaux-de-Fonds.

Sein Interesse für verschiedene Kulturen brachte ihn Anfang 2015 zu Maison Cailler, wo er im Atelier du Chocolat Schülern aus der ganzen Welt das süsse Handwerk der Chocolatiers näherbringt.


Patricks Lieblingsrezept: Sorbet mit feinstem Kakao und frischen Früchten.

 

ANTONIO DI CAPUA

Chocolatier

Als Sohn eines Chocolatier-Rösters begeisterte sich Antonio schon im Alter von 10 Jahren für Schokolade.

Ein paar Jahre später wurde er in Neuenburg zum besten Lehrling ausgezeichnet. Nachdem er in mehreren bekannten Schweizer Unternehmen Erfahrung gesammelt und verschiedene Preise gewonnen hatte, kam er 2017 ins Maison Cailler. Als Chocolatier-Demonstrator lehrt er die Kunst des Temperierens und Ganachierens. Inspiriert von der traditionellen Methode der Schokoladenherstellung teilt Antonio mit Leidenschaft sein Savoir-faire.

Er liebt besonders Schokoladen mit hohem Kakaogehalt.